About

Mission and History

Kids’ Chance of West Virginia is a nonprofit organization that provides scholarships to the sons and daughters of West Virginia residents who have been seriously, catastrophically or fatally injured in a work-related accident. Too often these children lack the financial resources to attend an accredited trade school, vocational school, college or university. Kids’ Chance provides scholarships that allow them to pursue a degree or certificate in any field of study at both in-state and out-of-state schools, colleges and universities. Funding for Kids’ Chance is provided through tax-deductible donations from individuals, companies, foundations and other organizations as well as through annual fundraising events. Kids’ Chance of West Virginia was established in December 1998 through the work of Gov. Cecil H. Underwood and others appointed to the Kids’ Chance Task Force.

Board of Governors

Members

Robert L. Stultz, Chairman
Attorney – Bailey, Stultz, Oldaker and Greene
P. O. Box 1310
Weston, West Virginia 26452
(304)269-1311
rstultz@baileystultz.com

John Balzano, Vice Chairman
United Steel Workers – Local 2911
2971 West Street
Weirton, West Virginia 26062
(304)748-8080
john.balzano@arcelormittal.com

Barbara Brown, Treasurer
Asst. Vice President – Sedgwick Claims Management Services
P. O. Box 14490
Lexington, Kentucky 40512
(304)348-5515
barbara.brown@sedgwickcms.com

Cindy Grinstead, Secretary
Brickstreet Insurance
400 Quarrier Street
Charleston, West Virginia 25301
(304)941-1000, ext. 5208
cindy.grinstead@brickstreet.com

Samantha Chase
West Virginia Insurance Commission
P. O. Box 50541
Charleston, West Virginia 25305
(304)558-6279, ext. 1236
samantha.l.chase@wv.gov

Ted Hapney
United Mine Workers of America
1300 Kanawha Boulevard, East
Charleston, West Virginia 25301
(304)343-0259
hapney56@hotmail.com

Lisa Warner Hunter
Pullin, Fowler, Flanagan, Brown and Poe
901 Quarrier Street
Charleston, West Virginia 25301
(304)344-0100
lhunter@pffwv.com

Jennifer McPherson
Minority Office, West Virginia House of Delegates
1900 Kanawha Boulevard, East – Building 1 Room 260M
Charleston, West Virginia 25305
(304)340-3240
jenmcpherson4@gmail.com

Kimberly Payne
478 Amber Ridge Road
Walton, West Virginia 25286
(304) 373-9339
kimmipayne@gmail.com

Mary Jane Pickens
West Virginia State Board of Risk and Insurance Management
90 MacCorkle Avenue SW
Charleston, West Virginia 25303
(304)552-3048
maryjane.pickens@wv.gov

Joshua Sword
West Virginia AFL-CIO
501 Leon Sullivan Way
Charleston, West Virginia 25301
(304)345-5667
jsword@wvaflcio.org

Beth A. White
West Virginia Association for Justice
1614 Kanawha Boulevard, East
Charleston, West Virginia 25311
(304)344-0692
bethwhite@wvaj.org